Diaphragmatic Apertures and Contents

This will help you with where the apertures are, what their names are, and what their contents are. Thanks study group for this…

1) I 8

2) 10 eggs

3) At 12

The way we’ve been saying it is “I 8 10 eggs at 12 and 1, 2, 3.”

1) = Only 1 structure comes through this aperture.

I = Inferior vena cava (IVC) aperture (and the name of the structure that comes through it).

8 = IVC comes out at T8.

2) = 2 structures come through this aperture (esophagus and vagus nerve (CN X), which we remember because the vagus nerve (CN X) innervates the stomach and that is what the esophagus is leading to).

Eggs = esophageal aperture.

10 = esophagus comes out at T10.

3) = 3 structures come through this aperture, kind of (descending aorta, thoracic duct, and the hemizygous and azgous veins. We’ve been counting hemizygous and azygous as one to make this work out nicely).

At = aortic aperture.

12 = Structures come out at T12.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s